About Thibodaux

While visiting Thibodaux, take some time and explore what we have to offer. There is so much to see and do!

History of Thibodaux

Founded on Bayou Lafourche, Thibodaux was a trading post between New Orleans and the Bayou Teche country in the late 1700′s. In 1808, once the Louisiana Purchase was completed, the community became the parish seat of Lafourche Interior. Thibodaux was named for Henry Schuyler Thibodaux who was one of the early settlers. His property was divided up into lots to be sold. It was originally incorporated in 1830 as Thibodeauxville but the name was changed in 1838 by Governor E. D. White, a resident of the parish to Thibodeaux. In 1918, the official spelling was changed to its current form, Thibodaux. (source: Thibodaux Chamber of Commerce)

Links to Thibodaux and Lafourche Parish

Thibodaux Chamber of Commerce

Bayou Lafourche Area Convention Visitors Bureau

Downtown Thibodaux

Dig In Lafourche

What Now Magazine

 

unique thibodaux attractions

Dansereau House
Circa 1840 and 1870, now serves as a bed & breakfast and event facility venue.

Donner-Peltier Distillers
The area’s only craft distiller with liquors (rum, gin and whiskey) made from local products.

E. D. White Historic House
Home of a former Louisiana Governor and US Supreme Court Justice.

Laurel Valley Village Sugar Plantation and Museum
Largest surviving 19th and 20th century sugar plantation complex left in the US.

St. John Episcopal Church
One of the oldest Episcopal churches west of the Mississippi River, founded in 1843.

St. Joseph Co-Cathedral
Renaissance Romanesque in design and contains relics of Saint Valerie, built in 1923.

Swamp Tours
Experience the swamps of Louisiana first-hand!

Wetlands Acadian Cultural Center/Jean Lafitte National Historical Park and Preserve
Learn about the history and traditions of the Cajun people.